Skip to main content
April 4, 2013

University of Montevallo SGA wins award

MONTEVALLO—The University of Montevallo was well represented at the YMCA Collegiate Legislature, held recently in Montgomery. Thirteen members of UM’s Student Government Association attended the event and garnered several awards.

Montevallo’s representatives captured the Speaker’s Cup Award, the highest award given, which recognizes the best overall delegation. Selection for this recognition is based on punctuality, knowledge of parliamentary procedure, participation in bill writing and cooperation and enthusiasm for all Collegiate Legislature events.

The UM delegation presented six of the 10 bills submitted to conference including two which were presented in the Joint Assembly where the most debatable bills are selected for presentation.

Courtney Meadows of Montgomery, vice president of UM’s SGA, was recognized as Senate Pro-Tempore and the leader of the University of Montevallo’s 2012-13 delegation. He was elected 2013-14 House Pro-Tempore.

Laura Beth Askelson of Birmingham, a sophomore senator in SGA at Montevallo, received the Outstanding Delegate Award and was elected leader for UM’s 2013-14 delegation.

Press ReleasesDecember 4, 2018

President of Alabama Power Foundation to deliver commencement address

 Myla E. Calhoun, president of Alabama Power Foundation and vice president of Charitable Giving for Alabama Power will deliver the keynote address for the University of Montevallo Fall Commencement, which will be held Friday, Dec. 7 at 5 p.m. in the McChesney Student Activity Center. A reception for graduates and their families hosted by the UM […]

Read More
More Montevallo StoriesNovember 7, 2018

Education professor earns national recognition

Jennifer Alexiou-Ray, associate professor in the College of Education at the University of Montevallo, was recently awarded the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Making It Happen Award at the annual Alabama Leaders in Educational Technology (ALET) conference. Alexiou-Ray now joins the ranks of the only 600 educators from across the world to have received this award since its inception in 1995.    The ISTE Making It Happen Award honors […]

Read More
Press ReleasesOctober 30, 2018

Meadows receives Mary Lou Elder Williams Alumnus Loyalty Award

The University of Montevallo honored deserving UM staff, faculty and alumni during the celebration of the University’s 122nd Founders’ Day on Oct. 11. Mike Meadows ’79 was named the recipient of the 2018 Mary Lou Elder Williams Alumnus Loyalty Award. Each year, this distinguished honor is bestowed to a UM alumnus who has demonstrated loyalty […]

Read More