May 26, 2020

University of Montevallo names 2020-2021 SGA cabinet

The University of Montevallo’s Student Government Association’s leadership team has been finalized for the 2020-2021 academic year.

The new SGA executive cabinet was sworn in during virtual meetings in April, as the University was operating under a distance education model due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thomas Dillard, a junior from Birmingham majoring in business administration, will serve as the SGA president following a year as the association’s student trustee.

Thomas Dillard

Thomas Dillard

“I’m looking forward to working with the new cabinet in the upcoming year,” Dillard said. “This school year may be unique, but the Student Government Association is working to ensure that everyone feels like they belong at the University of Montevallo.”

The University of Montevallo Student Government Association strives to facilitate better relationships between the faculty, administration, staff and the student body. It works to assess problems, make positive improvements and coordinate change at the University of Montevallo. SGA promotes the ideals of the University of Montevallo, ensures unity through diversity and serves as the student voice to the faculty and administration.

The following students will serve on the SGA executive cabinet for the upcoming academic year:


President Thomas Dillard
Vice President Natalie Seavers
Treasurer Josiah Garrett
Senior Class President Solomon Balaam-Reed
Executive Secretary Marrissa Fletcher
Administrative Vice President  Caitlin Blackburn
Director of Social Services Jacob Heath
Director of External Affairs Emily Torres
Senate Clerk Whitney Smitherman
Director of Public Relations Abby Askins
Director of Diversity and Student Outreach Abbie Clark
UPC Coordinator Alexandria Hawkins
Student Trustee Anakate Andrasko
President Pro Tempore Heather Collier