May 1, 2018

UM seniors receive recognition from Alpha Lambda Delta

During the month of April, over 40 students at the University of Montevallo were awarded the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society (ALD) senior certificate.   

Eligibility for membership in ALD is based on students having a grade point average of 3.5 or better during their first semester of college while enrolled full-time. 

“Being inducted into ALD is just the first accomplishment for this group of students,” said Randi Tubbs, Montevallo’s ALD chapter advisor. “They will go on to join other honor societies and clubs and will carve out a place at UM, while making a difference on campus and in their communities.” 

ALD members who graduate with a GPA of 3.5 or higher receive the senior certificate. Additionally, students graduating with the highest grade-point-average in their class receive the Maria Leonard Book Award from the society’s National Council. 

ALD is a national honor society with a mission to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year attending institutions of higher education. According to the honor society’s website, ALD additionally “seeks to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.” 

The following seniors received an ALD senior certificate: 

Lauren Alford 

Audrey Bearss 

Julia Burke 

Saralyn Campbell 

Leah Carden * 

MelinaCarranza Cortes * 

Kimary Causey-Dickerson 

Hannah Colvin 

Amy Dennis 

Lillian Elmore 

Emily Ferguson 

Jonathan Fleagle 

Emily Gabhart 

Katharyn Gambill 

Bree’Anna Glasscock 

Morgan Gray 

Kimberly Green 

Reggie Holifield 

Tyler Jones * 

Kylie Kerr 

Makenna Larson 


Brittany Majors 

Courtney Matson 

Jessica Mentzer 

Sierra Millsaps 

Bethany Mooney 

Elizabeth Moore 

Meredith Morgan 

Sammy Morse 

Katelin Nelson 

Tiffany Pardue 

Sara Perry 


Victoria Seamands * 

Yu Jen Su 

RyannTaylor * 

Cristeana Thomas 

Marissa Tom 

Natalie Twyford 

Emily White 

Savannah Whitfield 

Joyia Williams 

William Yates * 

*=received Maria Leonard Book Award