December 1, 2022

UM Senior Elite students recognized at ceremony in Palmer Hall Auditorium

The University of Montevallo held its Senior Elite ceremony recognizing outstanding students Nov. 9 in Palmer Hall Auditorium.

Dr. Tammi Dahle, vice president of Enrollment and Student Affairs, said the ceremony honors “the best and brightest of Montevallo students.”

Prior to the Senior Elite presentation, the Elite Night dedication was announced by senior class president Desirae Billingsly, the SGA cabinet was introduced by SGA president Cody Hodge and the Who’s Who awards were presented by Dahle.

Dahle said the purpose of the Elite Night dedication is to allow students to officially recognize an individual or individuals who have particular meaning to them.

This year, the recipient of the Elite Night dedication was Marion Brown ’03. Brown, a UM alum, is the director of University events. She is also the chair of the Founders’ Day and Commencement committees, and the director of College Night.

The Senior Elite for the College of Arts & Sciences, announced by Dr. Ruth Truss, dean, included the following students:

  • Allison Lovell
  • Emily Edelman
  • Courtney Keeler
  • Cassandra Bodi
  • Colin Jeffrey
  • Sara Crippen
  • Meredith Mosley
  • Brianne Balasky
  • Matthew Nesbitt
  • Michael Doerfler
  • Cody Hodge
  • Nicole Wilson
  • Parker Alexis Cardewell
  • Autumn Le
  • Alea Taube

The Senior Elite for the Michael E. Stephens College of Business, announced by Dr. Amiee Mellon, interim dean, included the following students:

  • Brock McNeely
  • Brett Simmons
  • Emily Hafner
  • Eva Dirr
  • Marissa Snodgrass
  • Solomon Glen

The Senior Elite for the College of Education & Human Development, announced by Dr. Shawn Mitchell, department chair of health and human sciences, included the following students:

  • Daniela Altamirano
  • Destiny Walker
  • Anna Glass
  • Anastasia Watters
  • Abagale Vingers
  • Dionna Gilbert
  • Isabelle Fuell
  • Emily McCay

The Senior Elite for the College of Fine Arts, announced by Dr. Steve Peters, dean, included the following students:

  • Erika Lewis
  • Jacey Bowling
  • Esclavon Prewitt
  • Patricia Scholz Hernandez
  • Makala Cone
  • Grace Collins
  • Julia Jones

Who’s Who recognizes juniors and seniors at UM who have demonstrated leadership skills and achieved academic successes. This year, awards were given to the following students:

  • Jennyfer Aguilar
  • Anna Grace Askelson
  • Noelle Barrows
  • Savannah Blackstock
  • Briana Bramlett
  • Autumn Canty
  • Kristofer Carter
  • Aubrie Chastain
  • Grace Hancock
  • Cody Hodge
  • Josie Jones
  • Kristen Moore
  • Elena Moreno
  • Carson Reed
  • Jessica Seymour
  • Abby Truitt
  • Destiny Walker