Skip to main content
November 16, 2017

UM Honors Who's Who

Students at UM selected for Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges® are juniors and seniors that demonstrate exceptional leadership and scholarly ability through participation in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service to Montevallo.  

Founded by Henry Pettus Randall Jr. In 1934, Who’s Who Among Students is a collegiate honors program that strives to celebrate student achievement regardless of financial ability.   

Each year, selections to the organization are made by individual schools’ committees comprised of representatives from the faculty, administration and student body. According to the program’s website, selection is determined by one’s ability to “enhance the positive image of the American students through their contributions to community and school.” 

“It should always be remembered that college students are the reservoir from which our nation draws its leadership strength. This feeling about American students is the guiding principle behind the Who’s Who Among Students program and our efforts to proudly continue to aid campuses in honoring students who demonstrate consistent excellence.” 

The following students were honored at Who’s Who Among Students:

Morgan Alford – Psychology

Justin Barrick – Biology and Biocheimstry

Hollie Brown – Elementary Education

Haley Campbell – Speech-Language Pathology

Lillian Elmore – Political Science

Jamie Haas – Communication Studies

Reggie Holifield – Chemistry

Aryne Hudson – English

Tyler Jones – Music Education

Simone Maxwell – Finance

Jonathan Mendoza – Communication Studies

David Pohler – Musical Theatre

Jameson Pressley – History

Katherine Sanders – FCS Education

Sara Elizabeth Shirley – Elementary Education-Collaborative

Sara Taylor – Elementary Education-Collaborative

Nina Katelyn Tunnell – Music

Colton Vaughn – History

Jessica Webb – Art

Mollie Wyatt – Communication Studies

Meng (Dennis) Yang – Music Education

Anna Zahumensky – Retail Merchandising

Press ReleasesDecember 11, 2018

University of Montevallo celebrates Fall Commencement

On Friday, Dec. 7, the University of Montevallo recognized 159 students for the completion of degrees at UM’s Fall Commencement held in the McChesney Student Activity Center. Myla E. Calhoun, president of Alabama Power Foundation and vice president of Charitable Giving for Alabama Power delivered the keynote address to the graduates, along with family members […]

Read More
Press ReleasesDecember 4, 2018

President of Alabama Power Foundation to deliver commencement address

 Myla E. Calhoun, president of Alabama Power Foundation and vice president of Charitable Giving for Alabama Power will deliver the keynote address for the University of Montevallo Fall Commencement, which will be held Friday, Dec. 7 at 5 p.m. in the McChesney Student Activity Center. A reception for graduates and their families hosted by the UM […]

Read More
More Montevallo StoriesNovember 7, 2018

Education professor earns national recognition

Jennifer Alexiou-Ray, associate professor in the College of Education at the University of Montevallo, was recently awarded the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Making It Happen Award at the annual Alabama Leaders in Educational Technology (ALET) conference. Alexiou-Ray now joins the ranks of the only 600 educators from across the world to have received this award since its inception in 1995.    The ISTE Making It Happen Award honors […]

Read More