Skip to main content
February 14, 2014

Two University of Montevallo students receive Order of Omega scholarships

MONTEVALLO—Two students at the University of Montevallo have received scholarships from Order of Omega, a national leadership society for members of campus sororities and fraternities.

Katie Edge of Brewton (photo not available) is a senior pursuing a degree in speech-language pathology. She has held a number of leadership positions in the Kappa Chi chapter of Phi Mu fraternity at UM.

An outstanding scholar, Edge received a Montevallo Ambassadors Program scholarship to attend UM. A student in the Honors Program, she was named Senior Elite and received Highest Honors in the Department of Communication Science and Disorders. She has been named to the President’s List six times. After graduation, she plans to attend graduate school to pursue a master’s degree in speech-language pathology.

Edge volunteers in the Montevallo community through a number of projects including the Orr Park Clean-Up event, Habitat for Humanity, Montevallo Big Event (community-wide service event), and Montevallo Matters Community Service Day. She has participated in a number of activities for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals, Phi Mu’s philanthropy project.

Taylor Fritts of Pinson (pictured above), a junior, is pursuing a degree in psychology and social work. A member of Chi Omega fraternity, she has served in several leadership roles and is currently the executive secretary of the chapter at Montevallo. She has also served in several positions on the UM Panhellenic Council.

Fritts has been listed consistently on UM’s honor rolls since her enrollment. She serves as the senator to the Student Government Association for the College of Arts and Sciences and has been an orientation leader since 2012, assisting freshmen and transfer students in their acclimation to university life. She is a Montevallo Master, an official ambassador for the university, assisting with alumni functions, graduations and special campus events. She also volunteers at two facilities serving children with handicaps.

Fritts plans to attend graduate school to pursue a master’s degree in social work.

Order of Omega, founded in 1959, recognizes juniors and seniors who have exemplified high standards in the areas of scholarship, leadership, involvement within their respective organization and within the Greek,  campus, and the local community. Members are selected from the top three percent of students at each institution. The scholarship program was established in 1985, followed shortly thereafter by the fellowship program in 1988. To date, the organization has awarded more than $1 million and has assisted more than 2,200 individuals in their educational endeavors.


Press ReleasesSeptember 20, 2017

President’s Outdoor Scholars Program promote National Hunting & Fishing Day at state press conference

On Tuesday, Sept. 19, representatives from several Alabama outdoor organizations gathered for a press conference at the Lower Wetumpka Shotgun Sports Club to promote the forthcoming National Hunting and Fishing Day on Sept. 23.  William Crawford, director of the University of Montevallo President’s Outdoor Scholars Program, was one of six speakers at the press conference. He discussed how the program not only engages […]

Read More
Press ReleasesSeptember 20, 2017

Hazel Green student elected student trustee for SGA

Colton Williamson, a University of Montevallo senior from Hazel Green, Alabama, was recently elected student trustee for UM’s Student Government Association.   Williamson is a senior finance and marketing double major at the University. In addition to serving on SGA as trustee, he also serves as the college of business senator. Williamson is an honorary member of the National […]

Read More
Press ReleasesSeptember 15, 2017

Montevallo and Lawson State announce partnership with continuUM program

The University of Montevallo and Lawson State Community College have announced a partnership to offer students easy transition from the community college to the four-year public university. The formalized program, continuUM, offers Lawson students guaranteed admission to UM after earning 24 transferable credit hours. “This collaborative effort reflects a perfect example of what universities and […]

Read More