November 14, 2019

Outstanding UM students recognized at Senior Elite Night

Dozens of University of Montevallo students were honored for their achievements during Senior Elite Night on Nov. 6.

The event is a longstanding tradition dating back to 1933, and honors students who have demonstrated outstanding academic and leadership abilities during their time on campus. Faculty in each academic department select the student Senior Elite honorees, and the recipients typically have the highest major and overall GPA and will graduate with honors.

The following students were recognized as Senior Elite:

Biology – Alexis Cortez

Chemistry – Olivia Eldridge

Chemistry – William Ryan Lowery

Communication Science and Disorders – Bria Owens

English – Mallory Currie

Environmental Studies – Yosheika Cummings

Foreign Language – Spanish – Olga Lucia Pruitt

Health Professions – Mariel Bertossi

Health Professions – Charles Wood

History – Mallory Currie

Mathematics – Austin Penton

Political Science – Zoe Scott

Psychology – Kristen Hayden

Social Work – Sarah Klinger

Sociology – Jessica Thrasher

Accounting – Lanie Bell

Accounting – Kelly Watts

Computer Informatics – Daniel Powers

Finance – James L. Smith

Management – Lauren (Kenley) Bledsoe

Marketing – Whitney Thorpe

Elementary Education – Victoria Watkins Morton

EDHH – Gillian May

Elementary Education – Collaborative – Mikayi Glasscock

FCS Education – Alex Rodriguez

FCS Retail Merchandising – Katherine Pearce

FCS Human Development and Family Studies – Joshua Love

EXNS Allied Health – Aubrey Long

EXNS Health Promotion – Amanda Gautreaux

EXNS Nutrition and Wellness – Jesse Anderson

EXNS Nutrition and Wellness – Zachary Olmsted

EXNS Strength and Conditioning Hannah Fernandez

Art – Cheyanne Smith

Communication Studies – Madison Barakat

Communication Studies – Jonathan Brewer

Mass Communication – Kendall Messer

Music Performance – Molly Mize

Music Education – Amy Summersett

Music – Elaina McBride

Theatre – Amber Hayes


Several students were also honored as Who’s Who Among Students at the University based on their academic achievements, service to the UM community and campus involvement:

Nicole Anderson, Haley Bellefleur, Zelma Cable, Anna Callan, Christine Compton, Camryn Denver, Sarah Engle, Kelly Garrett, Sara Harbison, DeAndra Hodge, Madison Hollon, Bria Owens, Dakota Patrick, Lizeth Ramirez, Olivia Snyder, Sarah Trotti and Adrian Weiss were honored as Who’s Who.

Mr. and Mrs. Montevallo Finalists, who are elected by their peers, were also honored during the event. Finalists are Keontez Mitchell, Jeffrey Odgers, Dakota Patrick, Sarah Engle, Bria Owens and Paige Wyatt. Rylee Holt and Alex Binion were recognized as Gold Side leaders and Bria Owens and Dakota Patrick were recognized as Purple Side leaders.

Each year, the senior class dedicates Senior Elite Night to one faculty member. This year’s honoree was Dr. Elizabeth Richardson, assistant professor of psychology.

Montevallo Masters serve as official hosts and hostesses at UM events, and were recognized during the event. This year’s Montevallo Masters are Abby Askins, Haley Blozik, Terrance Boykin, Alex Cochran, Christine Compton, Jeslyn Crawford, Julia Davis, Olivia Eldridge, Sarah Engle, Seth Graham, Jay Houser, William Lowery, Kaylan Martin, Daniel Moore, Bria Owens, Dakota Patrick, Morgan Scott, Olivia Self, Rachel Smith and Cydni Taylor.

Members of this year’s UM Student Government Association cabinet were also honored during the event:

Olivia Eldridge – SGA President

Madison Hollon – SGA Vice President

Natalie Seavers – Administrative Vice President

Alex Cochran – SGA Treasurer

Celia Venable – UPC Coordinator

Bria Owens – Assistant UPC Coordinator

Anakate Andrasko – Director of Diversity and Student Outreach

Thomas Dillard – Student Trustee

Zoe Scott – Senate Clerk

Marissa Fletcher – Executive Secretary

Dakota Patrick – Director of Social Services

Emily Torres – Director of External Affairs

Solomon Balaam-Reed – President Pro-Tempore

Kelly Garrett – SGA Public Relations

Taylor Efird – Freshman Forum Advisor