Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need.

Twelve visionary women chartered the Nu Omicron Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. on April 9, 1977, on the campus of the University of Montevallo.  It was the first African-American organization to be established on campus.

The ladies of this chapter pride themselves on their sincere commitment and devotion to the national objectives of the sorority. Through innovative programs, continuous community service, and scholastic achievements, the Nu Omicron Chapter has continued the legacy of upholding the stature and prestige of their founders and charter members. On campus and in the surrounding community, the past and present members have shown their dedication to service, scholarship, and sisterhood.


Nickname Deltas
Founded January 13, 1913, Howard University
Founded at UM April 9, 1977
Chapter Name Nu Omicron
Flower Violet
Colors Crimson and Cream
Mascot Elephant (unofficial)
Philanthropy ADA Dates for Diabetes, ACS Relay For Life,
Delta Research, Educational Foundation
Motto “Intelligence is the Torch of Wisdom”
National Website