Skip to main content
Department of Behavioral & Social Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Environmental Studies Faculty

Dr. Susan Caplow  
Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
(205) 665-6176 UMOM 302
scaplow@montevallo.edu
Courses: Environment & Society, Environment & Sustainability, Ethical Challenges to Environmentalism

Environmental Studies Adjunct Faculty

Mr. Kyle Crider
Instructor of Environmental Studies
M.P.A., University of Alabama at Birmingham
 kcrider@montevallo.edu
Courses: Environment and Society

Dr. Caplow

 

 

 

 

 


Geography Adjunct Faculty

Ms. Mackenzie Coan
Instructor of Geography
M.S., Auburn University
mcoan@montevallo.edu
Courses: World Regional Geography, Physical Geography


History Faculty

Dr. Robert W. Barone
Professor of History
Ph.D., Ohio State University
(205) 665-6181 UMOM 331
baroner@montevallo.edu
Courses: England, Renaissance and Reformation, Medieval European

Dr. John Bawden
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., University of California at Riverside
(205) 665-6179 UMOM 305
jbawden@montevallo.edu
Courses: Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin American

Dr. James S. Day
Professor of History
Ph.D., Auburn University
(205) 665-6117 UMOM 329
dayjs@montevallo.edu
Courses: United States, Technology, Southern, Military

Dr. Wilson Fallin, Jr.
Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Alabama
(205) 665-6183 UMOM 303
fallin@montevallo.edu
Courses: African-American, Africa, Southern, United States, Religion

Dr. Clark Hultquist
Professor of History
Ph.D., Ohio State University
(205) 665-6188 UMOM 328
hultquic@montevallo.edu
Courses: Europe, France, Japan, Advertising

Dr. Ruth Truss
Professor of History; Program Coordinator; Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Alabama
(205) 665-6187 UMOM 211
trussr@montevallo.edu
Courses: United States, Military, Alabama, Southern, Diplomacy

History Adjunct Faculty

Mr. Scott Ellison
Instructor of History
M.A., University of Montevallo
ellisons@montevallo.edu
Courses: World Civilizations I and II

Dr. Hultquist presents at the Faculty Research Symposium as Dr. Day listens.


Political Science Faculty

Dr. Carl Doerfler
Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., Texas A & M University
(205) 665-6178 UMOM 327
doerflerc@montevallo.edu
Courses: Public Policy, American Government, Constitutional Law, Research Methods

Dr. Andrea Eckelman
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., University of Houston
(205) 665-6189 UMOM 213
aeckelma@montevallo.edu
Courses: Public Policy, Public Administration, Identity Politics, Gender in World Politics, Women in Politics, Morality Politics

Dr. Scott Turner
Professor of Political Science; Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Georgia
(205) 665-6199 UMOM 330
turners@montevallo.edu
Courses: International Relations, Comparative Politics, Political Theory, Model UN

Dr. Eckelman, victor in the Life Raft Debate, with Dr. Beal (SWK)

Dr. Doerfler, recipient of the college teaching award, and Dean Mary Beth Armstrong

Dr. Turner presents BSS Alumnus Award to Dr. Steve Condrey.


Psychology Faculty

Dr. Virginia “Lee” Bare
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., University of Alabama
(205) 665-6435 Comer 301-C
vbare@montevallo.edu
Courses: Foundations, Clinical Psychology, Psychopathology, Psychological Testing

Dr. Kristen Gilbert
Professor of Psychology; Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Memphis
(205) 665-6445 Comer 301-B
gilbertk@montevallo.edu
Courses: Fundamentals, Cognitive, History, Senior Seminar

Dr. Gregory Longo
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic and State University
(205) 665-6446 Comer 301-A
glongo@montevallo.edu
Courses: Foundations, Statistics (Descriptive and Inferential), Lifespan, Senior Seminar

Dr. Melissa Shepherd
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Florida State University
(205) 665-6447 Comer 301-D
mshephe1@montevallo.edu
Courses: Foundations, Social Psychology, Descriptive Statistics, Research Methods

Psychology Adjunct Faculty

Mr. Steve Jordan
Instructor of Psychology
M.A., University of Montevallo
sjordan4@montevallo.edu
Courses: Foundations

Dr. Elizabeth Richardson
Instructor of Psychology
Ph.D., University of Alabama Birmingham
erichar5@montevallo.edu
Courses:  Biological Psychology

Drs. Beal (SWK), Eckelman (POS), and Shepherd (PSYC)


Social Work Faculty

Dr. Brendan Beal
Assistant Professor of Social Work
Ph.D., University of Georgia
(205) 665-6193 UMOM 312
bbeal@montevallo.edu
Courses: Research in Social Welfare, Human Behavior and the Social Environment, Social Work Practice with Groups

Ms. Jeannie Duke
Senior Clinical Instructor and Practicum Director
M.S.W., University of Alabama
(205) 665-6185 UMOM 304
dukej@montevallo.edu
Courses: Skills for Social Work Practice, Practicum, and Seminar

Dr. Jason Newell
Associate Professor; Director of the Social Work Program
Ph.D., University of Alabama
(205) 665-6184 UMOM 326
jnewell2@montevallo.edu
Courses: Research, Mental Health; Social Welfare, Individuals and Families, Practice

Dr. Meredith Tetloff
Assistant Professor of Social Work
Ph.D., University of Georgia
(205) 665-6190 UMOM 306
mtetloff@montevallo.edu
Courses: Substance Abuse, Social Work Practice, Social Policy

Social Work Adjunct Faculty

Ms. Johnna Matthews
Instructor of Social Work
M.S.W., University of Alabama
jmatthews@montevallo.edu
Courses:  Practicum, Seminar

Dr. Tetloff, recipient of the college teaching award, with Dean Mary Beth Armstrong

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drs. Newell and Hultquist, with Ms. Brady in background


Sociology Faculty

Dr. Christopher Bounds
Assistant Professor of Sociology; Criminology Concentration Coordinator
Ph.D., Mississippi State University
(205) 665-6192 UMOM 311
cbounds1@montevallo.edu
Courses: Life Course Criminology, Substance Use, Desistance from Crime

Dr. Deborah Lowry
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Michigan State University
(205) 665-6182 UMOM 214
dlowry1@montevallo.edu
Courses: Minorities, Social Problems, Social Gerontology, Animals & Society, Contemporary Chinese Society, Capstone

Dr. Stephen Parker
Professor of Sociology; Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Indiana University
(205) 665-6177 UMOM 215
parker@montevallo.edu
Courses: Pop Culture, Education, Sex Roles & Gender, Theory, Stratification

Dr. Condrey (BSS Alumnus Award recipient), Dr. Parker, and Dr. Webb (ENG)

Dr. Deborah Lowry and son; Dr. Scott Turner


Staff

Ms. Stacia Brady
Administrative Assistant II
B.S., University of Alabama at Birmingham
(205) 665-6180 UMOM 210
sbrady2@montevallo.edu

Ms. Brady

Ms. Lisa Spreher
Administrative Assistant I
B.S., University of Montevallo
(205) 665-6040 Comer 301
lspreher@montevallo.edu

BSS faculty at Homecoming reception

BSS alumnus Josh Barronton and Ms. Brady