Skip to Content Disable Custom Form Styling to Improve Accessibility
Header Image

Faculty and Staff

  • Geography Faculty

    Dr. Virginia Ochoa-Winemiller
    Assistant Professor of Geography
    Ph.D., Louisiana State University
    (205) 665-6189 UMOM 213
    vochoa@montevallo.edu
    Courses: World Regional Geography, Human Geography, Urban Geography, Anthropology

  • History Faculty

    Dr. Ruth Truss
    Professor of History & Chair
    Ph.D., University of Alabama
    (205) 665-6187 UMOM 211
    trussr@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Military, American South, American

    Dr. Robert W. Barone
    Professor of History
    Ph.D., Ohio State University
    (205) 665-6181 UMOM 331
    baroner@montevallo.edu
    Courses: England, Renaissance and Reformation, Medieval European

    Dr. John Bawden
    Assistant Professor of History
    Ph.D., University of California at Riverside
    (205) 665-6179 UMOM 305
    jbawden@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin American

    Dr. James S. Day
    Professor of History
    Ph.D., Auburn University
    (205) 665-6435 UMOM 329
    dayjs@montevallo.edu
    Courses: United States, Technology, Southern, Military

    Dr. Wilson Fallin, Jr.
    Professor of History
    Ph.D., University of Alabama
    (205) 665-6183 UMOM 303
    fallin@montevallo.edu
    Courses: African-American, Africa, Southern, United States

    Dr. Clark Hultquist
    Professor of History
    Ph.D., Ohio State University
    (205) 665-6188 UMOM 328
    hultquic@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Europe, France, Japan, Advertising

     

    Adjunct Faculty

    Scott Ellison
    Adjunct Instructor of History
    M.A., University of Montevallo
    ellisons@montevallo.edu
    Courses: World Civilization
    Fred “Randy” Fink
    Adjunct Instructor of History
    M. A., Jacksonville State University
    ffink@montevallo.edu
    Courses: World Civilization

    Bill Carmichael
    Adjunct Instructor of History
    M. E. University of Montevallo
    wcarmich@montevallo.edu
    Courses: World Civilization

  • Political Science Faculty

    Dr. Carl Doerfler
    Associate Professor of Political Science
    Ph.D., Texas A & M University
    (205) 665-6178 UMOM 327
    doerflerc@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Public Policy, American Government, Research Methods

    Dr. Scott Turner
    Professor of Political Science
    Ph.D., University of Georgia
    (205) 665-6199 UMOM 330
    turners@montevallo.edu
    Courses: International Relations; Comparative Politics; Political Theory

  • Psychology Faculty

    Dr. John Burling
    Professor of Psychology
    Ph.D., University of Arizona
    (205) 665-6444 Comer 301-E
    burlingj@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Social, Statistics, Biological

    Dr. Kristen Gilbert
    Professor of Psychology
    Ph.D., University of Memphis
    (205) 665-6445 Comer 301-B
    gilbertk@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Fundamentals, Cognitive, History, Senior Seminar

    Dr. Gregory Longo
    Assistant Professor of Psychology
    Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic and State University
    (205) 665-6446 Comer 301-A
    glongo@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Foundations, Statistics, Lifespan

     

    Adjunct Faculty

    Don Angers
    Adjunct Instructor of Psychology
    M. S. University of New Orleans
    dangers@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Foundations in Psyc.,Developmental Psyc.

    Steven Jordan
    Adjunct Instructor of Psychology
    M.A., University of Montevallo
    sjordan4@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Foundations, Lifespan Development

    Virginia “Lee” Bare
    Adjunct Professor of Psychology
    Ph.D., University of Alabama
    vbare@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Psychopathology, Psychological Testing

  • Social Work Faculty

    Ms. Jeannie Duke
    Clinical Instructor and Practicum Director
    M.S.W. University of Alabama
    (205) 665-6185 UMOM 304
    dukej@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Skills for Social Work Practice, Practicum, and Seminar

    Dr. Jason Newell
    Associate Professor & Director of Social Work
    Ph.D., University of Alabama
    (205) 665-6184 UMOM 326
    jnewell2@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Research, Mental Health; Social Welfare, Individuals and Families, Practice

    Dr. Meredith Tetloff
    Assistant Professor of Social Work
    Ph.D., University of Georgia
    (205) 665-6190 UMOM 306
    mtetloff@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Substance Abuse, Social Work Practice, Social Policy

     

    Adjunct Faculty

    Susan Vaughn
    Adjunct Professor of Social Work
    Ph.D., Case Western Reserve U. of Ohio
    vaughn@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Human Behavior

    Johnna Matthews
    Adjunct Instructor of Social Work
    MSW, University of Alabama
    jmatthews@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Mental Health

    Sarah Young
    Adjunct Instructor of Social Work
    MSW, University of Michigan
    syoung17@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Social Policy

  • Sociology Faculty

    Dr. Deborah Lowry
    Assistant Professor of Sociology
    Ph.D., Michigan State University
    (205) 665-6182 UMOM 214
    dlowry1@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Minorities, Social Problems, Social Gerontology, Contemporary Chinese Society

    Dr. Stephen Parker
    Associate Professor of Sociology
    Ph.D., Indiana University
    (205) 665-6177 UMOM 215
    parker@montevallo.edu
    Courses: Pop Culture, Education, Sex Roles & Gender, Theory, Stratification

  • Staff

    Ms. Stacia Brady
    Office Manager
    B.S. UAB
    (205) 665-6180 UMOM 210
    schildress@montevallo.edu